One Vertical Menu - Multiple Pages.

• jem
  • Born
  • Born
  • jem

Post 3+ Months Ago

I am fairly new to web design & programming.
My question is I need a menu for all my pages. I am constantly changing my menu items and am looking for a way to create one menu and then link to it from each page so if I update the menu it then updates all pages.
I have tried it with Dreamweaver and Spry but creating a template or similar does not include the CSS.

Is there a way to create a single menu and link to it from all pages.

Thanks

Jem
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• righteous_trespasser
  • Scuffle
  • Genius
  • Loc: South-Africa

Post 3+ Months Ago

PHP Include
  • roarmeow
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • Loc: BKNY

Post 3+ Months Ago

or, you could use apache's include (or your server doesn't have php installed):
Service Side Includes

or, if you're on an iis server that supports asp:
ASP Includes
  • zaiah
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • zaiah

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm a little confused. Because I had the same issue. But I found in Dreamweaver that you can save the menu as a "library item". Then each time you need to edit, open the library item, make your changes, it will ask if you want to update all pages and say yes. And you should be in good shape. Set the rules with your CSS and you should be good to go. I don't have my super computer with DW in front of me. But I have done this, so I know it works.

Let me point out that I am new to this as well. So the solutions suggested are probably much better. I just don't know any PHP or ASP. Haven't gotten that far yet.
  • ACT Media
  • Loc: India

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi, :D

All websites have areas that are repeated in many pages of the same site, for example : Header banner, navigation menu's, footers, etc. When you wanted to make changes often, in dreamweaver for these common area's you can use a feature called as Library.