Our web designer says he cannot remove white borders on video

• xtacybyme
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • xtacybyme

Post 3+ Months Ago

First off i have no clue why I'm here, and why my web designer i paid $2800.00 bucks for isn't posting this!

i could really use some help... i have paid a guy to do an animation for our website, it was a video (.avi) then i had the vid guy convert the .avi to flash for the web guy I'm dealing with now.

when someone comes to our site they are supposed to see this .avi in full screen (basically it's an intro to our site) and then once it's done playing it is supposed to go to our coming soon page. (once site is completed the intro page will stay and the coming soon page will be removed.)

The problem... my web guy says it's my 22 inch monitor, (I'm a pc tech And like to think I'm determined and able to troubleshoot things quite well, and I highly doubt this is my issue, i do not know web design but logic tells me what I'm trying to achieve should be able to be accomplished) the reason i don't think it's my monitor is when the intro starts there are scroll bars if i have it set at a small window size, if i make the window larger the scroll bars disappear, but on the bottom and sides of the vid animation there is white. It LOOKS TERRIBLE! I've sent him screen shots and he tells me its due to my large screen size, and on his small monitor he doesn't see the white. and basically tried sugar coating me, and telling me that ONLY 1% of people out there will have this large of a monitor, and the odds that someone that has a monitor this size, will hit my site are slim to none. I told him i don't care i want all 100% to be able to see it and for it to look nice.

His reasoning, excuses he's given me the last few days.