Positioning multiple elements using CSS

• Cold Canuck
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Michigan, U.S. of eh

Post 3+ Months Ago

I put together this example page to help describe what I need to do.

http://www.freewebs.com/coldcanuck/indectss.htm

Please copy and paste the URL since it refuses to work as a direct clickthrough.

Viewed using IE 6 and Firefox .8, the pages renders as intended...text links at the very top of the window, logo in the center, and the copyright/footer at the very bottom of the window (regardless of resolution)....however neither Netscape 7.1, Mozilla 1.4.1 nor Opera 7.23 render that page as desired.

It's paramount that the answer to my conundrum be viewable using older browsers as far back as Netscape 4.x, since the pages I do must be seen by the widest possible audience, not just those surfing with the newest version of IE.

I'm new to CSS positioning abilities, but I'm hoping that the answer is simple (and I don't mean using flash or too many images).
I spent some time using the Ozzu search feature, but was unable to find an answer that helped.

Can YOU help?

Cheers...

C.C.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Allow me to emphasise (since CC and I talked about this earlier today) the "resolution" aspect of this -- one of the goals he has is to make sure the "format" remains constant regardless of screen size and resolution (as well as the browser compatability). I didn't have the exact answer, but believe it could be done with positioning, but I won't have the opportunity to play with it myself until prabably later in the week.
  • LazyJim
  • Student
  • Student
  • LazyJim

Post 3+ Months Ago

hi, the image in the center of the page, will that ALWAYS be an image or do u need a site solution?

It's failry easy with CSS-P and the image can be placed by setting it as a bg.