Redirecting to an internal webpage

• Overheat
  • Born
  • Born
  • Overheat

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi there,

I'm quite technical, but my head is spinning looking for an answer to this issue, basically what I want to do is as follows:

Quite simply I work in a store and I'm the most computer literate, so my boss wants me to try and setup a wireless network that our customers can connect to with their phones and it takes them to a webpage with special offers on it.

I've been looking into it for the last couple of days but to be honest it's all a little overwhelming, so I'm wondering if anyone can explain it in more simple and straight-forward terms and this seems like a good place to start.

I've got a wireless modem-router and I've had a look on it and it seems that you can block all incoming connections and redirect them to a LAN server, which I think is what I'd need to do. Looking around on the internet, it seems most people are telling me I need to use apache, but that in itself is completely overwhelming too - and I've also had a fiddle with WAMP and have also been completely baffled.

So basically I'm thinking I need to put a website on a local computer, then somehow get my wireless router to redirect all incoming traffic to that webpage - so if anyone can help me, I'd be massively grateful.

Thank you in advance!!!
Paul.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Bigwebmaster
  • Site Admin
  • Site Admin
  • Loc: Seattle, WA & Phoenix, AZ

Post 3+ Months Ago

From what I have just read, I think that could work and is exactly what you would need to do. So you would provide a router for customers to connect to wireless and you would redirect all connections to a local server there on the property (my guess). If you search google for WAMP you can find some pretty easy install kits to getting a full Windows based server setup where you will have Apache, MySQL and PHP or ASP working.