Screen Resolution

• RulingAuthority
  • RulingAuthority

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi,

I am new to website design and am wondering how screen resolution will affect how my page looks on other peoples computers.

This is my first site that is from scratch (not a template like usual). I am using adobe photoshop and sitespinner v2 to put the site together. I made the basic design in adobe and then spliced the images, loaded them into sitespinner, and dragged and dropped the images into there proper places. Sitespinner is a wysiwyg editor. Anyhow, in adobe, and in sitespinner, I am designing everything as if everybody's screen resolution was 800x600. A few minutes ago reality hit and I realized not everybody uses the same resolution as me.

Anyhow, I know the computers at work use a lower resolution than 800x600, and they get scroll bars so they can see the whole site. This is not a problem in my eyes, I believe there are few people who still actually use resolutions this low. (My company is ran by a cheapskate :))

Now when it comes to higher resolutions than 800x600 I have no idea how my site or other sites would look (yes I am a cheapskate too). Higher resolutions on my monitor do not look right by any means, so it's not a good comparison what my site would look like on someone with a monitor that supports higher resolutions. I am basically wondering if they will see my full site, aligned to the left of the browser, and a big whitespace to the right of the browser. Or if a higher resolution will stretch my site to fit the full screen (ie..there full resolution).