Stretching graphics

• Nucleo
  • SausagePorkPie
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: UK - England

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi
me and some m8s are going to make an interactive football (soccer) website. It will be made using phpcoding and MySql. I am going to be learning as i go.

the first thing i want to do is have a header graphic. The header graphic is around 790pixels wide. I have sliced it into 3 for easy loading, but I would like the 2 end slices to go the the end of viewable space. and the middle graphic to be stretched. This way the site is not an odd size and the header fills the whole page width.

i would just like to know how to go about doing this. I have never done it before, the middle graphics is a small space with nothing it in, so it can be stretched, Am i going abou this the wrong way?
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• digitalMedia
  • a.k.a. dM
  • Genius
  • Loc: SC-USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

hey man,

If I'm reading this right, what you're describing is a very common task in HTML. You can do a CSS solution too, but I'll just post the HTML right now to see if this is what you were after. In this solution I'm actually 'tiling' an image as a cell background, not stretching it, so that tiling image would actually be 1px wide, by whatever height.

Code: [ Select ]
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<title>Soccer Document</title>
</head>
<body style="margin:0;padding:0;">
<table width="100%" height="300" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
    <td width="200" bgcolor="#CC3300">fixed width cell</td>
    <td bgcolor="#CCCCCC" background="images/yourImageToBeStretched.gif">adapting cell</td>
    <td width="200" bgcolor="#CC3300">fixed width cell</td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>
  1. <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
  2. <html>
  3. <head>
  4. <title>Soccer Document</title>
  5. </head>
  6. <body style="margin:0;padding:0;">