Taking over a Front Page generated website.

  • BMich
  • Born
  • Born
  • BMich
  • Posts: 1

Post 3+ Months Ago

I've been approached to take over a website that was generated with "Microsoft FrontPage 5.0". It's a pretty simple site, mostly just HTML, and maybe a script or 2. I know HTML and have done some simple web stuff, but have never used Front Page. I'm assuming the easiest thing to do would be to buy FrontPage - looks like FP 2003 is what is current... that way I can keep the same look/feel as I expand the site with additional navigation buttons, etc.

Does that make sense?
Are there issues with loading the site into FP 2003?
Is it backward compatible if they decide they want to let the old guy do some work too?
Is the learning curve very long for straight-forward stuff?

Thanks for any insights y'all can provide.
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Posts: ?
  • Loc: Ozzuland
  • Status: Online

Post 3+ Months Ago

  • Socno
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Socno
  • Posts: 107
  • Loc: New York

Post 3+ Months Ago

BMich wrote:
I've been approached to take over a website that was generated with "Microsoft FrontPage 5.0". It's a pretty simple site, mostly just HTML, and maybe a script or 2. I know HTML and have done some simple web stuff, but have never used Front Page. I'm assuming the easiest thing to do would be to buy FrontPage - looks like FP 2003 is what is current... that way I can keep the same look/feel as I expand the site with additional navigation buttons, etc.

Does that make sense?
Are there issues with loading the site into FP 2003?
Is it backward compatible if they decide they want to let the old guy do some work too?
Is the learning curve very long for straight-forward stuff?

Thanks for any insights y'all can provide.


Even tho the page has been done in frontpage, you can configure it in other website programs. F.ex: Dreamweaver. You can also use Notepad.
When you use frontpage, the source will show:

Code: [ Select ]
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft FrontPage 4.0">
<meta name="ProgId" content="FrontPage.Editor.Document">
<title>New Page 1</title>
</head>
  1. <head>
  2. <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
  3. <meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft FrontPage 4.0">
  4. <meta name="ProgId" content="FrontPage.Editor.Document">
  5. <title>New Page 1</title>
  6. </head>


something like that..
You can just remove

[code]
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft FrontPage 4.0">
<meta name="ProgId" content="FrontPage.Editor.Document">

from the source...
  • jlknauff
  • Expert
  • Expert
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 502
  • Loc: Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't think it's worth the time to hand code it. You should learn as much as you can so that you know what your doing, but just use DW.
  • ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 23456
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

This digressed too far from the topic. Sorry. //Topic locked for the moment until it can be sorted.
  • UNFLUX
  • Genius
  • Genius
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 6376
  • Loc: twitter.com/unflux

Post 3+ Months Ago

this topic may now continue in the vein it was started. :)

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 5 posts
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.