Thoughts on HTML editors and writing by hand

• mrhodes
  • mrhodes

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'm fairly new to writing web pages and am in the process of trying to learn how to write proper HTML and such (many good link from these forums! Thanks for the info. I'm working on http://www.lisaexplains.com right now. I do feel a bit like Bob from "What about Bob?" *baby steps to the door, baby steps to the hall ........* :oops: )

Anyway, just curious on some feedback as to a good way to learn and make pages. I understand the idea that HTML editors such as frontpage are bad because they do all the work for you. This in turn keeps one from learning how to write the code properly. Eventually, when one chooses to include a feature in the site that is beyond the capabilities of the editor, one will be lost as to how to properly include the new code in the page.

However, it seems incredibly tedious to sit there and write the ENTIRE site out by hand. I cannot imagine writing an entire site by hand in notepad, especially a more complex site with lots of features.

How do most folks make good quality (code-wise) sites? Do they actually write the whole thing out by hand, or do they use a mix of html editors for simple stuff and code by hand for the more complex features? I've played with HTML Kit a bit, and that seems like an interesting idea. Not quite a WYSIWYG editor, but it does automate some of the tags to remove a bit of the redundant typing. Just curious as to what approach most folks take to creating their sites.

Mark
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

No site is too big for Kwrite...or notepad!