Two Probally Simple Questions

• Jackend
  • Jackend

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hello

On certain websites when you click on a link, either on the page or on the navigation bar the new page appears not in the browser but within a window.

I am not very good with HTML, and for my site I use a site builder, and its annoying doing the layout, the navigation bar and other things over and over again.

Another question I have is setting up User Accounts that also intergrate with the forums.
I'd like to be able to alot of control over user accounts, able to edit and include ranks and such so that certain people can access different content on the site.
If anyone know of a tutorial that can help, it would be greatly appreciated xD

Also, if anyone needs to know I have access to many tools I would possibly need.

~Jack
  • righteous_trespasser
  • Scuffle
  • Genius
  • Loc: South-Africa

Post 3+ Months Ago

What type of forum are you using? that will already make a difference in answering your question ...

And then about the new window thing ... are you talking about a popup window like many spammy* sites have?

*not a real word - Just a site that is usually associated with spam ...
  • spork
  • Brewmaster
  • Silver Member
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Code: [ Select ]
<a href="http://example.com" target="_blank">example</a>

will cause the link to open in a new window.

As far as the user management goes, your best bet is to look into an existing CMS solution such as Joomla or forum software such as phpBB. To write something from scratch with limited experience would take quite a bit of time.
  • Jackend
  • Jackend

Post 3+ Months Ago

I worded my question wrong, sorry.

I want the page to open within the page.

Lets say I have a header on top, and a sidebar with navigation and a footer on the bottom, I want the navigation links to open the page within the empty space
------------------------
------------------------
[[
[[
[[
[[
[[
[[
[[
-----------------------