uploading games

• chris m
  • chris m

Post 3+ Months Ago

i half way through setting up my site and i want a page where members can play games i tried uploading my files and it wont upload its saying its an invalid file type the file is .exe could some1 please tell me how i change it and what i change it to and anything else useful u could tell me about uploading games as im a total novice
thanks in advance
chris
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• monoheinz
  • Student
  • Student
  • Loc: Norway

Post 3+ Months Ago

How do you upload the files? FTP client, web interface, what? If you use an ftp client it shouldn't be a problem to upload .exe files.
  • chris m
  • chris m

Post 3+ Months Ago

im not to sure to be honest as i said im a total beginner i set up a free site with 1asphost.com and using there online file manager i uploaded them from there
  • monoheinz
  • Student
  • Student
  • Loc: Norway

Post 3+ Months Ago

I found this in the 1asphost.com faq:
Quote:
Members must use the online File Manager. You have the option of uploading .ZIP files to your directory, which makes it possible to upload several files at once — even an entire site structure! This online unzip utility makes uploading fast and convenient.

Simply zip each game individually before you upload them. Apparently 1asphost.com has an .exe restriction.

Edit: Seems like you should read the terms better: http://1asphost.com/faqs.asp?q=77
  • chris m
  • chris m

Post 3+ Months Ago

this cant be happening :(
thanks for your help anyway :lol:
  • neksus
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • Loc: Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

people cant play games online through an exe...they'd have to download it anyways. might as well just zip it up or change the extension.
  • Syber
  • Novice
  • Novice

Post 3+ Months Ago

you will be limited as well

Quote:
Members receive 100 MB of web space.

and