SITE REVIEW: Alaron

• ATNO/TW
  • Super Moderator
  • Super Moderator
  • Loc: Woodbridge VA

Post 3+ Months Ago

I don't do this often, but I'd like to ask for a review of http://alaron-nuclear.com

I just put this revision on line earlier today. I'd show you what it used to look like, but it was created by a total novice in Frontpage and was so sad, it's not even worth referencing.

I'm not great with graphics, but set this up as a temporary fix to a very bad site. I'll give you a rundown on some things I already know. I did this up in XHTML transitional, and although I included the validation links at the bottom of most of the pages, I know there's a few I know I need to go back and modify the code to validate.

There's a lot of content. Except for the Home page. That's basically a sliced image I did pro-tem and it is by no means static. For the most part the site will change almost monthly in appearance and will improve as I get better at graphics.

I'm personnaly not overwhelmed with the navigation, because I feel it's "small" and almost hidden on top, but it was the best DHTML nav bar I could come up with on short notice. The search page will go away very soon as I have an alternative search option that will be available on all pages.

Would appreciate all the what you like / don't like feedback you have to throw at me.
  • Lieven
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: Belgium

Post 3+ Months Ago

When I opened up your site, I looked at it and started scrolling down. I tought it was a one-page site until I discovered the menu.

My point: I think the menu is not "visible enough"

There are a few ways on how you can correct it:
- make it bigger or surround it by something attractive
- replace it to under your header
- make the main picture thing a little bit les flashy (e.g. by replacing the red to blue gradient fill with something plain)