SITE REVIEW: eWebDevelopment.net (Ver 2)

  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

eWebDevelopment launched about 1 month ago and has come a long way with it's site design. I think I am nearing completion and would like to know what you guys think. For the most part i'm done, still working on validating a few pages. Any pages that are finished have a W3C HTML 4.01 icon at the bottom.

:)
  • rtm223
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 1855
  • Loc: Uk

Post 3+ Months Ago

Well the aesthetic hasn't really changed since last time, so I won't say much on that. I will still complain about using text in images on the side boxes. And on the red sub-header bits. As well as wasting bandwidth you are loosing so many instances of important keywords.

You don't need javascript to change the hover effect on those links, you can do it with a couple of lines of CSS.

Well done on the standards compliance though :D
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

rtm223 wrote:
Well the aesthetic hasn't really changed since last time, so I won't say much on that. I will still complain about using text in images on the side boxes. And on the red sub-header bits. As well as wasting bandwidth you are loosing so many instances of important keywords.

You don't need javascript to change the hover effect on those links, you can do it with a couple of lines of CSS.

Well done on the standards compliance though :D


Yea i'm going to fix that, good point. Then i'll be able to use the same background image for all the tabs instead of using different tabs. I'll be able to save some bandwidth... Also, i'll put the new text titles as a H1 tag :)

Gonna fix it once I get home from work
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

bbott1982 wrote:

Yea i'm going to fix that, good point. Then i'll be able to use the same background image for all the tabs instead of using different tabs. I'll be able to save some bandwidth... Also, i'll put the new text titles as a H1 tag :)

Gonna fix it once I get home from work


DONE :D
  • webinv
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • webinv
  • Posts: 110

Post 3+ Months Ago

Greetings,

Are you sure you want to use Google's Adsense on every page. It may take visitors away from your page and to another company's site.

Example:

On your Graphic Design page you explain the services you offer.

When you look to the right at the Google ads you see..

Graphic Design Logos: From logoworks.com


Granted, you get a small amount of money from google, but you would lose a potential customer that you could have sold other things to later on.
  • emitind.
  • Student
  • Student
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 92
  • Loc: england

Post 3+ Months Ago

adding on to that, what impression do you think potential clients get when they come to your site and see adverts?
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

My view on this topic is....

If a client is serious about getting a web site designed, they will end up browsing and comparing many companies. Most company's will not only visit one web site and choose their services, they shop around. I believe upon viewing my website and portfolio they know right then and there if they want to consider my company to do their project. So why not get a little extra cash through some ads. Therefore I do not think my ads are hurting my business too much. I have gotten numerous project request quotes within the past month regardless of my ads.
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Update: Removed text in top header image and inserted text through CSS. Hopefully this will help w/ SE's ranking

used h1 tags
  • *Rocky*
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 16
  • Loc: Behind You?

Post 3+ Months Ago

another good E-web site. i think removing those top header images was for the best bbott
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

*Rocky* wrote:
another good E-web site. i think removing those top header images was for the best bbott


Thanks :D
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

So how long before I'm out of the "google sandbox" ? I cannot be found anywhere in the google SERPs

Someone said to search w/ "allintitle: Professional web design" to get an idea of how your site will actually rank when out of the sandbox. I'm coming up in spot 30 but i don't know how accurate this could be because it is only searching titles, correct?

My site has been up for about 2 1/2 months.
  • mikey132
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • mikey132
  • Posts: 7
  • Loc: On the bog

Post 3+ Months Ago

gud site :D
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

mikey132 wrote:
gud site :D


:rofl: thanks
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

UPDATE: removed java script in header on each page and moved coding into an external file.

Any more small tweaks you guys can think of ??
  • frans26
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 34
  • Loc: Close to Lao

Post 3+ Months Ago

I like your site a lot.
Very neat design

But
Your font is way too big.
What about the font in the adsense adds (also I think adsense is not a good idea for your site).

Cheers mate

Frans
  • frans26
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 34
  • Loc: Close to Lao

Post 3+ Months Ago

btw
impressive portfolio
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

frans26 wrote:
I like your site a lot.
Very neat design

But
Your font is way too big.
What about the font in the adsense adds (also I think adsense is not a good idea for your site).

Cheers mate

Frans


My font is too big? My font size is set through CSS and the font is rather small IMO.

Can you take a screen shot and post it? The font is set at 8pt
  • frans26
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 34
  • Loc: Close to Lao

Post 3+ Months Ago

Checked your site again, and it looks perfect now!
Font is ok !!!

I am in China now, and sometimes sites load very strangely here.

Cheers mate

Frans
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

frans26 wrote:
Checked your site again, and it looks perfect now!
Font is ok !!!

I am in China now, and sometimes sites load very strangely here.

Cheers mate

Frans


Oh ok. :)
  • jaz d
  • Newbie
  • Newbie
  • jaz d
  • Posts: 5

Post 3+ Months Ago

I like the template!! The site looks very proffesional and well thought out!! If i were you I'd be proud
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

jaz d wrote:
I like the template!! The site looks very proffesional and well thought out!! If i were you I'd be proud


Thanks
  • marengo
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • marengo
  • Posts: 52

Post 3+ Months Ago

Nice work :) I am not sure about background color for the content: #E0E0E0 - looking sad for me.

Great work on the standards compliance !

Best of luck,
Nat
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

marengo wrote:
Nice work :) I am not sure about background color for the content: #E0E0E0 - looking sad for me.

Great work on the standards compliance !

Best of luck,
Nat


Yea the standard compliance took awhile to finally complete, but it was well worth it.

Sorry if my site made you sad :) Cheer up ! :D
  • guyute
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • guyute
  • Posts: 19

Post 3+ Months Ago

the colors throw me off...possibly that with a mixture of the bubbles takes away from the professionalism
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

guyute wrote:
the colors throw me off...possibly that with a mixture of the bubbles takes away from the professionalism


Could you elaborate more. What are you talking about, bubbles?
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

bbott1982 wrote:
guyute wrote:
the colors throw me off...possibly that with a mixture of the bubbles takes away from the professionalism


Could you elaborate more. What are you talking about, bubbles?


Anybody know what he's talkin about? And any other opinions about the colors ?
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Other than visual comments, etc.... does anyone have any suggestions on search engine optimization ?
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

UPDATE: I ripped a lot of text out of my page and pretty much condensed everything. Now instead of filling up nearly two pages i'm just a little over one. Hopefully it it less confusing for the viewers now.

Still don't know if i like the top image header all blue. Think i shoudl throw in some color?
  • madmonk
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind
  • madmonk
  • Posts: 2115
  • Loc: australia

Post 3+ Months Ago

how about linking yr site logo to go back to index page_?

I find it weird to list yr own site in yr portfolio too.

why did you bold VISIT ?

all in all, great design!
  • bbott1982
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • User avatar
  • Posts: 320
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

madmonk wrote:
how about linking yr site logo to go back to index page_?

I find it weird to list yr own site in yr portfolio too.

why did you bold VISIT ?

all in all, great design!


Currently my image header is set at a background image, enabling me to position my keywords in the upper right corner in a <h1> tag. I can't put an image map for this. Although i supposed i could set that up through CSS. Prob not worth the work though, since I already have a "Home" link.

I put my own site in my portfolio simply because I do not have enough sites to put together a large portfolio. Once I get more jobs I will remove my company site listing.

I took the bold out of "VISIT", i don't know why i put it like that.

Thanks for the comments :)

Post Information

  • Total Posts in this topic: 58 posts
  • Moderator: Website Reviewers
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum
  • You cannot post attachments in this forum
 
cron
 

© 1998-2014. Ozzu® is a registered trademark of Unmelted, LLC.