SITE REVIEW: Horticulture

• Dr R
  • Dr R

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi Guys

This is my first attempt at a website so all criticism/ praise would be useful. Although it is a business site, it is not designed to be selling anything, it is just for information purposes

thanks in advance for your comments

http://www.portersfuchsias.co.uk
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• dojo
  • Graduate
  • Graduate
  • Loc: Timisoara, Romania

Post 3+ Months Ago

It's not bad for a first time :)
Anyway ... the home page is the most important. Make sure you've got some content there. Present the site and make the visitor wish to spend more time. You've got to lure them to stay :)
The butterflies are nice, but some people could consider them annoying.
For websites Times New Roman is not the best idea. It looks OK on printed stuff, but not too good on the web. We use Arial, Verdana, Tahoma instead.

Since you're new to web design, I would dare recomend you Webmaster Tips and Tricks a site I made in order to help new and advanced webmasters make better sites. I guess there are some useful resources for you too.

I must congratulate you for the site. My first attempt was so ugly, I'm envious :D Good luck with it and don't be shy, ask for help anytime you need it :)
  • Taylor Hewitt
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • Loc: Canada

Post 3+ Months Ago

The butterflies are fun to click to death.

Yeah it ain't bad really for a first. I mean you should of seen mine. I had no knowledge of html at the time and built it with homestead site builder when it was free :P.

It's a bit tacky tho. Make it more... welcoming or something :P.
  • daremedy
  • Professor
  • Professor
  • daremedy

Post 3+ Months Ago