SITE REVIEW: PhiAlphaDelta

• Pariah
  • Pariah

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi everyone, I am very new to web development. I made this site for a fraternity I am in. I just want to become a better web designer, be brutal. I would like any comments you all might have, thank you in advance!

P.S. I am a beginner :(. Any comments about things I could change, it would be nice if you could point in the direction on how :). Thanks!

PhiAlphaDelta
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• Hob Bramble
  • Proficient
  • Proficient
  • Loc: Indiana, USA

Post 3+ Months Ago

Starting at the top, the header could use a bit of work. It's neat, but I'd cut the pictures that don't stretch all the way across, as they look silly. I would also have the header cycle through the images a little slower, and run in a continuous look - the "Want Free Pizza? Click Here!" message, though somewhat amusing, doesn't really do much for the look. If you had it just keep slowly cycling through the images though, I think it would look pretty neat.

Scrap the navigation bar. Flash navigation bars are bad news all around. They take longer to load than a CSS based bar would, aren't SEO friendly, and make viewing the site a pain for those who don't have Flash - which brings me to the browser check: Your site looks and runs great in Internet Explorer 7, Firefox 2, Maxthon 2, Opera 9, and Netscape 9. However, in Lynx, it's completely impossible to use, because Lynx doesn't support Flash (this also goes for screen-readers and other accessibility tools). Also, in IE 6, your logo at the very top has a grey background, because IE 6 doesn't support PNG transparency. Enough people still use IE 6 that you should probably fix that - simply filling in the transparent area of the logo with the right background colour would work fine.