SITE REVIEW: The Alpine Chalet Company

• themarr76
  • themarr76

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi, I am totally new to this, and this is my first attempt at a website so feedback very much appreciated.... http://www.thealpinechaletcompany.com

I built the site using the website builder 1&1 and trying to add ALT text to imgs is tempremental. As you can see from the first page of my site ive been able to add ALT text to one of the IMGs but not the others, the code just doesnt seem to find the source even though the file is there?? any sugestions greatfully received...
  • Anonymous
  • Bot
  • No Avatar
  • Loc: Ozzuland

Post 3+ Months Ago

• jfrasier
  • Beginner
  • Beginner
  • Loc: Palm Beach Gardens, Florida

Post 3+ Months Ago

If this is a first attempt at a website, using a tool like website builder 1&1, then good job man!

I mean there is of course some tweaks that you could do, but I have seen alot of garbage for first attempts, and even 3 and 4th attempts. You have some decent text layout, an established navigation and a decent header. Your message is clear and distinct, and nice work along the edges.

I would remove the timestamp from the chalet image though, and all images in general. Even a photograph from an amateur can deliver professional quality, but the one thing that always ruins it is when a timestamp is left on the photograph.

In regards to your images, they do not have to all be aligned center. Try aligning them right and left as well. I always recommend that beginners look over magazines. They are the perfect example of how text and imagery should be formatted.

One little thing though, take off the counter. It is so 90s, and really doesn't achieve anything especially when your site is just starting out.

Unfortunately, your code has alot of problems. No title tags, meta etc, but that is a result of using a website builder. Nothing can really be done about that until you invest in a true HTML editor.

But nice start and good work.
  • jameson5555