SITE REVIEW: The Weekly Canard

• Swami Barmi
  • Swami Barmi

Post 3+ Months Ago

I'll preface this by acknowledging that I'm a total novice/hack!

This site is a weekly news satire site, obviously attempting a 'morning paper' appearance.

http://www.theweeklycanard.com

or direct:

http://www.theweeklycanard.osamabinrumsfeld.com

Thanks in advance,

Mac
  • b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master
  • Loc: Maryland

Post 3+ Months Ago

Looks pretty good, plenty of information and well organized. One thing you could try to do for people with higher resolutions is to center the whole thing. On my computer it doens't fill the screen so it looked a little lopsided when it was just left justified. Other then that it looks like you did a great job fo a "total novice/hack"
  • Swami Barmi
  • Swami Barmi

Post 3+ Months Ago

Thank you very much. The centering idea is a good one; one that I've spent too much time trying to figure out how to do! Since you mention it I realize I need to keep trying.

Mac
  • b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master

Post 3+ Months Ago

yeesh you used all div tags for that?! novice my butt ;) ;) What happens if you put a table around all that and center the table? I would imagine that would have some pretty ghastly effects on the css though...

it's worth a try :-p
  • deFaye
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • deFaye
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

in my opinion you need to have to design a new logo, if you are going for a newspaper effect, why not photograph a newspaper's actual title. and edit it with your own style. then you can even take a photo of a page, edit it and cut the whole centre out, youre left with the sides of the page that you can use as sides for a table. i hope you understand. i do baffle a lot :)
  • b_heyer
  • Web Master
  • Web Master

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hrmm, I think it looks fine, even better then our school newspaper...
The drop shadows could probably go, since not to much on the page is 3d besides them and maybe the plates.