SITE REVIEW: My Very First Flash site - ryanrocks.co.uk

• ryaninja
  • Novice
  • Novice
  • ryaninja
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi to everybody at Ozzu! I'm new to this forum, so I'll hope you'll excuse me if I'm posting this in the wrong section. I was torn between putting this post in here or in the 'Review my site' section. I chose here in the end because I actually have some flash specific questions to ask. :)

Please also excuse me if I seem a bit newb-ish, but that's prolly cos I am. :wink:
I'm an Oracle Database Administrator by trade, but to be quite honest, it bores the crap out of me, so I thought I'd take it on myself to learn some new skills.

I'm new to Illustrator (here's my first attempt at illustrator art a couple of weeks ago - still work in progress) and I'm also a newbie at flash, which I aquired a few days ago.

Anyway, I've just built my first flash page, using a combination of illustrator for the graphics (and exporting as png files), and flash to build the page and animate it.

Please take a look at my site (well page, cos none of the links are active yet) and let me know what you think in terms of design and stuff...

http://www.ryanrocks.co.uk

Right, now for the questions!

1) A lot of the images I've imported (using the import to stage option, and then creating graphic symbols from the imported image) have lost a lot of image quality, and have a lot of visible artefacts. And not just the ones in the gallery. The 'blog' screenshot has also gone very fuzzy, and the main banner is looking messy due to it too. Any idea why?

2) When I create shapes in illustrator, for example a square, it's composed of a path that has properties on the stroke and fill to give it's appearance. However, I seem to have loads more problems creating and editing shapes in flash.