SITE REVIEW: www.InterviewBooks.com

• Eric Locken
  • Born
  • Born
  • Eric Locken
  • Loc: UK

Post 3+ Months Ago

Hi

I am an author and have just developed a website to showcase my books / link them to Amazon.

Please have a look and let me know what I could do to improve the site. Writting books is fine, but I have a bit of a creative block when it comes to designing websites.

The site is:

http://www.InterviewBooks.com
  • Mas Sehguh
  • Mastermind
  • Mastermind

Post 3+ Months Ago

This will probably be a long list.

1. Don't use blue text for non-links. You have blue text all over the place that looks like it would be clickable (because blue is the standard link color) but it turns out not to be so. And some of them are URLs!

2. Make the URLs into links that point to their respective locations. It's what people expect. (And if you do this, make them blue.)

3. Red and blue text on a white background never go together well.

4. To say #1 more generally, never have links and non-links be the same color. Pick a link color and make all links that color, and then let no other text look the same. This is good for usability.

5. You have a site title in the upper left-hand corner of your Web pages. This is good practice, since that's where people expect the logo to be. However, they also expect it to be a link to the root of your site, and at the moment, it is not. There is currently no obvious way to get from, say, your contact_us.htm page to the root page.

6. Have your "our blog" link go directly to <http://www.interviewbooks.com/our_blog.htm>; there's no need to make the user click twice.

7. It's bad form to use "click here" in link text. There are some people who aren't using mice (they are using a keyboard or tablet or PDA or cellphone), so "click here" doesn't make a lot of sense.