Asked
Updated
Viewed
247.3k times

I can remote desktop using a GUI (graphical user interface) from my Linux machine to a Windows machine, but not from a Windows machine to a Linux one. Anyone know what I need to do?

I have installed PuTTY on Windows which brings up a terminal like window, but I cannot get it to bring up the KDE GUI. PuTTY may not support using a GUI?

You can also use PenguiNet it's excellent software + it's too cheap 🙂 I know it does not support GUI though you should learn how to run your commands 🙂 — MISC A++
    Can you please inform me which Linux distribution you are using and how you RDP to the Windows machine? I am an absolute beginner and would like to accomplish precisely that. Thank you in advance! — Dragonchaser
    I feel your best bet on Linux servers is to learn how to do things at the command line. Even with a GUI interface there are going to be certain tasks that will require you to open a command line. Linux behaves in the exact opposite manner as Windows in this respect - the command line actually gives you more power and options than the GUI, whereas the Windows command line is severely limited and the GUI is required for most tasks. — madirish
add a comment

6 Answers

• Votes
  • Oldest
  • Latest
Answered
Updated

FreeNX is what you're looking for. It is to Linux what Remote Desktop is to Windows. FreeNX is, as the name indicates, is free. I've never used RealVNC, but it also appears to be free and is available for Linux. You may want to try TightVNC, as it's free.

VNC and FreeNX don't do quite the same thing, so you should pick the one that does what you're looking for.

VNC will allow you to access the same desktop that you would be using if you were sitting at the computer. If you were to open Mozilla, for example, while sitting at your home computer and then go to a different computer and VNC into your home computer, you would be able to see and use that instance of Mozilla that you had opened.